Il Lago di Como

The Lake Como, with an area of 146 miles. is the third largest Italian Lake after Lake Garda and Lake Maggiore. Its distinctive inverted Y-shape is given by the three branches of: Colico at North, Lecco Southeast, Como Southwest.The Lake is surrounded by mountains, the highest of which is Mount Legnone (2609 m), above Colico. The streams are tributaries 37, among these the most important is the Adda River, followed by Mera. Adda is also the only emissary; exits the Lake at Lecco, having formed the Lakes of Garlate and Olginate, continue in the direction of Some.
The only island in the Lake is the Isola Comacina, in Como, in front of the municipality of Sala